Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS); Meeting of the ACRS Subcommittee on ESBWR; Notice of Meeting

The ACRS Subcommittee on the Economic Simplified Boiling Water Reactor (ESBWR) will hold a meeting on August 21-22, 2008, Room T-2B3, 11545 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Maryland.

The meeting will be open to public attendance, with the exception of a portion that may be closed to protect information that is proprietary to General Electric-Hitachi (GEH) Nuclear Energy and its contractors pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552b(c)(4).

The agenda for the subject meeting shall be as follows:

Thursday, August 21, 2008--8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Friday, August 22, 2008--8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

The Subcommittee will review the probabilistic risk analysis supporting the Safety Evaluation Report with Open Items associated with the ESBWR Design Certification Application. The Subcommittee will hear presentations by and hold discussions with representatives of the NRC staff, GEH, and other interested persons regarding this matter. The Subcommittee will gather information, analyze relevant issues and facts, and formulate proposed positions and actions, as appropriate, for deliberation by the full Committee.

Members of the public desiring to provide oral statements and/or written comments should notify the Designated Federal Official, Dr. Harold J. Vandermolen (telephone: 301-415-6236), five days prior to the meeting, if possible, so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Electronic recordings will be permitted. Detailed procedures for the conduct of and participation in ACRS meetings were published in theFederal Registeron September 26, 2007 (72 FR 54695).

Further information regarding this meeting can be obtained by contacting the Designated Federal Official between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. (ET). Persons planning to attend this meeting are urged to contact the above named individual at least two working days prior to the meeting to be advised of any potential changes to the agenda.

Dated: July 14, 2008. Cayetano Santos, Chief, Reactor Safety Branch A,Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards.