Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


Veterans' Advisory Committee on Environmental Hazards; Notice of Meeting

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) gives notice under Public Law 92-463 (Federal Advisory Committee Act) that a meeting of the Veterans' Advisory Committee on Environmental Hazards will be held on October 27-28, 2008, in room 648 at 810 Vermont Avenue, NW., Washington, DC, The meeting will be held from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day. The meeting is open to the public.

The purpose of the Committee is to provide advice to the Secretary of Veterans Affairs on adverse health effects that may be associated with exposure to ionizing radiation, and to make recommendations on proposed standards and guidelines regarding VA benefit claims based upon exposure to ionizing radiation.

The major items on the agenda will be discussions of medical and scientific papers concerning the health effects of exposure to ionizing radiation. On the basis of the discussions, the Committee may make recommendations to the Secretary concerning the relationship of certain diseases exposured to ionizing radiation. The October 28 session will include planning for future Committee activities and assignment of tasks among members.

An open forum for verbal statements from the public will be available for 30 minutes in the afternoon each day. People wishing to make oral statements before the Committee will be accommodated on a first-come, first-served basis and will be provided three minutes per statement.

Members of the public wishing to attend should contact Ms. Bernice Green at the Department of Veterans Affairs, Compensation and Pension Service, 810 Vermont Avenue, NW., Washington, DC 20420, by phone at (202) 461-9723, or by fax at (202) 275-1728. Individuals should submit written questions or prepared statements for the Committee's review to Ms. Green at least five days prior to the meeting. The Committee may ask those who submit material for clarification prior to its consideration.

By Direction of the Secretary.
E. Philip Riggin, Committee Management Officer.