Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


Federal Railroad Administration

[Docket No. FRA-2000-7257Notice No. 69]

Railroad Safety Advisory Committee; Notice of Meeting

AGENCY: Federal Railroad Administration (FRA), Department of Transportation (DOT).
ACTION: Announcement of Railroad Safety Advisory Committee (RSAC) meeting.
SUMMARY: FRA announces the forty-seventh meeting of the RSAC, a Federal Advisory Committee that develops railroad safety regulations through a consensus process. The RSAC meeting topics will include opening remarks from the FRA Administrator, and status reports will be provided by the Critical Incident, Fatigue Management, and Risk Reduction Working Groups. Status reports will also be provided by the Engineering and System Safety Task Forces, and a presentation on headwear will be provided. This agenda is subject to change, including the possible addition of further proposed tasks under the Rail Safety Improvement Act of 2008.
DATES: The RSAC meeting is scheduled to commence at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, September 27, 2012, and will adjourn by 4:30 p.m.
ADDRESSES: The RSAC meeting will be held at the National Housing Center, 1201 15th Street NW., Washington, DC 20005. The meeting is open to the public on a first-come, first-served basis and is accessible to individuals with disabilities. Sign and oral interpretation can be made available if requested 10 calendar days before the meeting.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Mr. Larry Woolverton, RSAC Administrative Officer/Coordinator, FRA, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Mailstop 25, Washington, DC 20590, (202) 493-6212; or Mr. Robert Lauby, Deputy Associate Administrator for Regulatory and Legislative Operations, FRA, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Mailstop 25, Washington, DC 20590, (202) 493-6474.

Pursuant to Section 10(a)(2) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463), FRA is giving notice of a meeting of the Railroad Safety Advisory Committee (RSAC). The RSAC was established to provide advice and recommendations to FRA on railroad safety matters. The RSAC is composed of 54 voting representatives from 32 member organizations, representing various rail industry perspectives. In addition, there are non-voting advisory representatives from the agencies with railroad safety regulatory responsibility in Canada and Mexico, the National Transportation Safety Board, and the Federal Transit Administration. The diversity of the Committee ensures the requisite range of views and expertise necessary to discharge its responsibilities. See the RSAC Web site for details on prior RSAC activities and pending tasks: refer to the notice published in theFederal Registeron March 11, 1996 (61 FR 9740), for additional information about the RSAC.

Issued in Washington, DC, on August 23, 2012. Robert C. Lauby, Deputy Associate Administrator for Regulatory and Legislative Operations.