Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


Foreign-Trade Zones Board

[Order No. 1858]

Reorganization of Foreign-Trade Zone 107 Under Alternative Site Framework, Polk County, IA

Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June 18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board (the Board) adopts the following Order:

Whereas,the Board adopted the alternative site framework (ASF) (74 FR 1170, 01/12/09; correction 74 FR 3987, 01/22/09; 75 FR 71069-71070, 11/22/10) as an option for the establishment or reorganization of zones;

Whereas,the Iowa Foreign Trade Zone Corporation, grantee of Foreign-Trade Zone 107, submitted an application to the Board (FTZ Docket 10-2012, filed 2/9/2012) for authority to reorganize under the ASF with a service area of Adair, Adams, Audubon, Boone, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Story, Union, Warren, Wayne and Webster Counties, Iowa, adjacent to the Des Moines Customs and Border Protection port of entry, and FTZ 107's existing Site 1 would be categorized as a magnet site;

Whereas,notice inviting public comment was given in theFederal Register(77 FR 8805-8806, 2/15/2012) and the application has been processed pursuant to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations; and,

Whereas,the Board adopts the findings and recommendations of the examiner's report, and finds that the requirements of the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations are satisfied, and that the proposal is in the public interest;

Now, therefore,the Board hereby orders:

The application to reorganize FTZ 107 under the alternative site framework is approved, subject to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations, including Section 400.13 and to the Board's standard 2,000-acre activation limit for the zone.

Signed at Washington, DC, this 20th day of September 2012. Paul Piquado, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Import Administration,Alternate Chairman, Foreign-Trade Zones Board. Andrew McGilvray, Executive Secretary.