Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


Office on Violence Against Women; Charter Reestablishment

AGENCY: Office on Violence Against Women, United States Department of Justice.
ACTION: Notice of Charter Reestablishment.
SUMMARY: Pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended (5 U.S.C. App.2), and Title IX of the Violence Against Women Act of 2005 (VAWA 2005), the Attorney General has determined that the reestablishment of the Task Force on Research on Violence Against American Indian and Alaska Native Women (hereinafter "the Task Force") is necessary and in the public interest and will provide information that will assist the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) to develop and implement a program of research on violence against American Indian and Alaska Native women, including domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking, and murder. The program of research will evaluate the effectiveness of the Federal, state, and tribal response to violence against Indian women and will propose recommendations to improve these responses. Title IX of VAWA 2005 also required the Attorney General to establish a Task Force to assist NIJ with development of the research study and
the implementation of the recommendations. The Attorney General, acting through the Director of the Office on Violence Against Women, originally established the Task Force on March 31, 2008. The Charter to reestablish the Task Force was filed with Congress on October 4, 2012. The Task Force is comprised of representatives from national tribal domestic violence and sexual assault nonprofit organizations, tribal governments, and national tribal organizations. Task Force members, with the exception of travel and per diem for official travel, shall serve without compensation. The Director of the Office on Violence Against Women shall serve as the Designated Federal officer for the Task Force.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Lorraine Edmo, Deputy Tribal Director, Office on Violence Against Women, United States Department of Justice, 145 N Street NE., Suite 10W.121, Washington, DC 20530.
Dated: October 17, 2012. Virginia Davis, Acting Director, Deputy Director for Policy Development, Office on Violence Against Women.