Daily Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of the Federal Government


National Institute of Food and Agriculture

7 CFR Part 3434

RIN 0524-AA39

Hispanic-Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACU)

AGENCY: National Institute of Food and Agriculture, USDA.
ACTION: Final rule.
SUMMARY: This rule updates our regulations to show a list of institutions that are granted HSACU certification by the Secretary and are eligible for HSACU programs for the period starting October 1, 2012 and ending September 30, 2013.
DATES: This rule is effective November 16, 2012 and applicable October 1, 2012.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Matthew Lockhart; Senior Policy Specialist; National Institute of Food and Agriculture; U.S. Department of Agriculture; STOP 2299; 1400 Independence Avenue SW.; Washington, DC 20250-2299; Voice: 202-559-5088; Fax: 202-401-7752;
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: HSACU Institutions for Fiscal Year 2013

This rule makes changes to the existing list of institutions in Appendix B of 7 CFR part 3434. The list of institutions is amended to reflect the institutions that are granted HSACU certification by the Secretary and are eligible for HSACU programs for the period starting October 1, 2012, and ending September 30, 2013.

Certification Process

As stated in 7 CFR part 3434, an institution must meet the following criteria to receive HSACU certification: (1) Be a Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI), (2) offer agriculture-related degrees, and (3) award at least 15% of agriculture-related degrees to Hispanic students over the two most recent academic years.

NIFA obtained the latest report from the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics that lists all HSIs and the degrees conferred by these institutions (completions data) during the 2010-11 academic year. NIFA used this report to identify HSIs that conferred a degree in an instructional program that appears in Appendix A of 7 CFR part 3434 and to confirm that over the 2009-10 and 2010-11 academic years at least 15% of the degrees in agriculture-related fields were awarded to Hispanic students.

The updated list of HSACUs is based on (1) completions data from 2009-10 and 2010-11, and (2) enrollment data from Fall 2011. NIFA identified 80 institutions that will meet the eligibility criteria and receive HSACU certification for FY 2013 (October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2013).

Appeal Process

NIFA will permit HSIs that are not granted HSACU certification to submit an appeal within 30 days of the publication of this notice. The appellant must submit a request for review to the NIFA official specified in this notice with details on the nature of the disagreement and include supporting documents.


This rule relates to internal agency management. Accordingly, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 553, notice of proposed rulemaking and opportunity for comment are not required, and this rule may be made effective less than 30 days after publication in theFederal Register. This rule also is exempt from the provisions of Executive Order 12866. This action is not a rule as defined by the Regulatory Flexibility Act, as amended by the Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act of 1996, 5 U.S.C. 601et seq.,or the Congressional Review Act, 5 U.S.C. 801et seq.,and thus is exempt from the provisions of those Acts. This rule contains no information collection or recordkeeping requirements under the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995 (44 U.S.C. 3501et seq.).

List of Subjects in 7 CFR Part 3434

Administrative practice and procedure; Agricultural research, education, extension; Hispanic-Serving Institutions; Federal assistance.

Title 7, part 3434 of the Code of Federal Regulations is amended accordingly as set forth below:

PART 3434—HISPANIC-SERVING AGRICULTURAL COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES CERTIFICATION PROCESS 1. The authority citation for Part 3434 continues to read as follows: Authority:

7 U.S.C. 3103.

2. Revise Appendix B to part 3434 to read as follows: Appendix B to Part 3434—List of HSACU institutions, 2012-2013.

The institutions listed in this appendix are granted HSACU certification by the Secretary and are eligible for HSACU programs for the period starting October 1, 2012, and ending September 30, 2013. Institutions are listed alphabetically under the state of the school's location, with the campus indicated where applicable.

Arizona (3) Central Arizona College Phoenix College Pima Community College California (26) Allan Hancock College Bakersfield College California State Polytechnic University-Pomona California State University-Bakersfield California State University-Fresno California State University-Fullerton California State University-Long Beach California State University-Monterey Bay California State University-San Bernardino College of the Sequoias Fullerton College Golden West College Hartnell College Imperial Valley College MiraCosta College Modesto Junior College Monterey Peninsula College Mt. San Antonio College Porterville College Reedley College San Diego Mesa College San Joaquin Delta College Santa Ana College Southwestern College West Hills College Coalinga Whittier College
Colorado (1) Trinidad State Junior College Florida (4) Florida International University Miami Dade College Nova Southeastern University Saint Thomas University Illinois (2) City Colleges of Chicago-Harold Washington College Triton College New Mexico (8) Central New Mexico Community College Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus New Mexico Highlands University New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology Northern New Mexico College Santa Fe Community College University of New Mexico-Main Campus Western New Mexico University New York (4) CUNY Bronx Community College CUNY City College CUNY LaGuardia Community College Mercy College Puerto Rico (15) Bayamon Central University Institute Tecnologico de Puerto Rico-Manati Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce Universidad Del Turabo Universidad Metropolitana University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo University of Puerto Rico-Humacao University of Puerto Rico-Medical Sciences Campus University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Campus University of Puerto Rico-Utuado Texas (16) Houston Community College Lee College Midland College Palo Alto College South Plains College Southwest Texas Junior College Texas A&M International University Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Texas A&M University-Kingsville Texas State Technical College-Harlingen University of Texas at Brownsville University of Texas at El Paso University of Texas at San Antonio University of Texas—Pan American University of Houston University of the Incarnate Word Washington (1) Wenatchee Valley College Done in Washington, DC, this 26th day of October, 2012. Sonny Ramaswamy, Director, National Institute of Food and Agriculture.